Man Tries To Give DeSantis Participation Trophy In Iowa

Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis (R) got a participation trophy “for trying” from a comedian in the audience Saturday at a campaign stop in Atlantic, Iowa.

The awkward exchange elicited nervous laughter from the audience — who braved a blizzard with sub-zero temperatures to be there — as DeSantis refused the trophy and two men escorted the man away from the governor.

“Real quick before we get started — thank you, everyone,” the campaign troll began, “Governor DeSantis, I want to present to you this participation trophy. You’re probably not going to win the election, right? But we’re proud of you for trying. Here you go.”

“I don’t take participation trophies, sorry. Sorry buddy. Sorry,” DeSantis responded, refusing to take the trophy as the campaign comedian tried to put it in the governor’s hand.

“He’s special, he’s unique and he’s our little snowflake,” the man said in concluding remarks to forced laughter from the polite room of Iowa Republicans as the governor’s wife stepped in front of him and gestured off camera toward DeSantis’ security team and said, “Go ahead.” Two men then approached and walked the trophy prankster out of the room.

The man is half of a comedy duo called The Good Liars. Washington Examiner reporter Samantha-Jo Roth captured the moment on video. It went viral among DeSantis’ progressive and conservative critics on X, formerly Twitter.

In an interview with ABC’s “This Week,” DeSantis said Trump is “running for his issues” as he seeks a second term in the White House, but that DeSantis is “running for your issues and your family’s issues.”

DeSantis is currently polling far behind former President Donald Trump for the Republican nomination in 2024. The average of all national polls shows Trump polling at 60% as of Jan. 14, and DeSantis trailing behind in a distant second place with 12% of the vote.

Second-place finishers in the Republican primary have a history of winning the GOP nomination in the next cycle. Former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney (R-MA) won the nomination in 2012 after finishing second place to the late Sen. John McCain (R-AZ) in 2008. McCain, in turn, was the 2008 nominee after finishing second behind George W. Bush in 2000.